Valentine’s Day Logo – Vector Illustration

This was a personal project. Initially I was playing with a tightly spaced script to fill in the silhouette of a pair of lips. The final vector illustration is much more uniform and less calligraphic than the initial sketches. Even though the original silhouette idea was discarded, I like the sanskrit/arabic impression. There are some trapped spaces that bother me, and there are several things I might change on a future iteration to return the impression to a more organic script design, but I think the piece stands well enough.

Technical note: It wasn’t until later that I realized that I had made more work for myself. Since I ended up going with a uniform stroke and spacing arrangment, I could have used single lines, increased the stroke size and given a rounded cap to the strokes. C’est la vie.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

