Soft spine Hard Cover Book

In my quest for cool, durable, easier, beautiful books, I developed a new idea for creating bookcovers. I use the sick card stock for the front and back covers but instead of creating a spine I glue the covers down onto a page of heavy craft paper (like a brown paper grocery bag), then fold the bag on top of the boards to make a “sandwich”. I finished by cutting excess paper on the sides at 45° angle’s and folding the remainder in to seal the cover.
IMG_5351.JPG
For this particular book, I chose to use three different types of paper: card stock, printer paper, and thin brown packing paper. I’m enjoying my corner punched corners.

I actually sewed three signatures together then glued card stock and papers to attach the book block. I did a rush job of gluing the spine of book block in order to create extra stability.
Cover art is collaged from and add, a chipotle bag, and a white out pen with stencil.
IMG_5349.JPG
IMG_5348.JPG

Leave a Reply

