Process – Pseudo-Screen Print Illustration

I found this illustration by Tim Gough , an out-0f-register screen print. Prints automatically have a bold, graphic quality that appeals to my design sensibility. I’m not sure if this is an actual print or a digitally created piece, but I liked it so much I wanted to try my hand at making a Photoshop version. Reverse engineering is one of my favorite things to do. It’s a great way to develop new skills and techniques and to think in a different way about image making.

The first image below shows a brush I created and the rough sketch I made to guide me. I took the brush and tweaked spacing, and size and angle jitters in the brush engine. Initially, I filled the area of the sketch with strokes then changed brush sizes and erased out. By doing a few layers of that I came up with a fun rough and “hairy” texture. I used the lasso tool to clean up areas that needed to be crisp as well as the type.

Lastly, I made 3 colored version (red, blue, yellow), set red and blue to 90% multiply and the yellow version to screen in the transparency/opacity options. Using the arrow keys I offset the layers to get the final effect. After seeing the finished version, I thought the type was too hard to read so I layered a Overlayed type copy on top which enabled me to make the monster’s claws more visible too.

sketchfinal

CreaetMonster_Animated

Leave a Reply

