Uncontained Life Logo Design (process)

Uncontained Life is a ” a multi-media travel and lifestyle website devoted to Socially Responsible Local-level Tourism”. Here’s a walk through my process in coming up with a unique combination mark for them.

I started with good old fashion pen and paper. This image is actually a combined scan of several pages of sketching. I was trying to free-associate the name. At this stage I was keeping the self-editing to a minimum. See the “spilled milk” concept? Weird.

 

UL_sketchscans

Using the hand sketches as reference, I began to “sketch digitally. There is actually an intermediate stage here: I made a list of type faces that I thought lent themselves to the name.

 

Screen Shot 2014-09-05 at 4.04.19 PM

There are more intermediates, but in the end I presented these 8 images to the client. I thought they ran a gamut of conceptually.

 

Screen Shot 2014-09-05 at 4.04.42 PM

 

 

The clients liked the snail concept. I sent a few color options and landed on this pairing. Voila!

Screen Shot 2014-09-05 at 4.06.44 PM

One Response to “Uncontained Life Logo Design (process)”

  1. Heather Lynn Says:

    Neat to see the whole process! One of my personal favorites is the caged bird. The snail concept works great, though! And I love the final product colours.

Leave a Reply

