Graverobber Comic -Thumbnails and Page 1 Rough

This project has been ongoing since at least 2003. That’s a long time. Why is it taking me so long to finish? A mixture of distractions and uncertainty. It never goes away and I always get a little closer each time.

At one point I created thumbnails for the entire story, but when I came back to them after one of my lengthier intervals they didn’t resonate with me. The thumbs below are newer attempts at visualizing the story. I went ahead and drew a 5.5″ x 8.5″ version of page one. I actually ended up selecting one of the plainer sketches but tweaked the angle after seeing a photograph of a church in New England. The lower camera angle creates a more menacing visual presence for the old churchyard. I won’t give the story away, but I’m definitely taking stylistic liberties to tap into existing cultural archetypes.

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

