Process_Turkey Illustration

I started off with a rough sketch. Once I had worked out the basics, I traced the rough drawing onto layout paper with a light blue pencil (not shown). On another sheet of layout paper, I inked the figure and his tail feathers separately.

Since they would be scanned in and colored in Photoshop, the separate pieces gave me some flexibility. Once scanned, I took the artwork into Illustrator in order to use LiveTrace to smooth out the line work before taking it back into Photoshop for coloring.

Back in Photoshop I created flat color areas. I could have used Illustrators’ LivePaint, but instead I duplicated the artwork layer, locked the pixels and filled the bottom copy with white. I set the top art layer transparency mode to multiply, then began selecting and coloring the bottom layer.

After that, it was shading and texturing.

One Response to “Process_Turkey Illustration”

  1. Turkey Footbal Illustration Rough « Labsquad Says:

    […] is a detail of an illustration I’m working on. It’s a follow up to last year’s design of a different theme. This time for production reasons I opted to reuse elements from the race car […]

Leave a Reply

