The Flaming Marshmallow

It was time. I’ve been trying for a few years now to come up the right new character for the Green Ghost lineup. Here she is: The Flaming Marshmallow!

Here was my development process:

I think the name came first. It combined several elements that I was looking for.

1. My first idea had the main elements that I ended up keeping. I was really excited about how the hair came out—light and tendril-like. The only problem was that the character is younger than Green Ghost and Octopus Girl and the proportions made her look too mature. To get some perspective I drew quick roughs of GG and OG before beginning drawing 2. I also knocked out a rough logo which I will refine later.

2. This was basically right. It looked like it belonged to the same universe as the other two characters. I thought the design needed to be simplified (mostly the hair).

3. I was happy with number 3. Inked, it captured everything I was going for. I decided to take it into Photoshop and try digital inks.

4. Thanks to the new rotation tool in CS4 and some new tricks I’ve picked up from the DC Comics Guide to Digitally Drawing comics, I took a swing. Not the best, but I like the color palette for the costume. The whole process took about 3 hours. Enjoy.

One Response to “The Flaming Marshmallow”

  1. Bjorn Freeman-Benson Says:

    I love it.

Leave a Reply

