Gouache Guardian

This gouache sketch started out as me using up some extra paint by painting an entire page yellow. Once that was done, I sketched a running figure in a funky futuristic armor. I redrew the sketch larger and worked out some details.

After carbonizing the back of the enlarged sketch with a 4B pencil, I traced the drawing with a pen, transferring a light pencil image onto the yellow background.

I inked the drawing with my rapidograph ink-filled Niji brushpen. I then began painting, filling up the inked areas with various colors. They were really bright and obnoxious so I went over them with a muddy red to mute them. I added the highlights with slightly dirty white paint and the shadows with blue. I left the goggles yellow.

In the background I doodled a futuristic city, adding some shadows and  few ink lines. I painting in the ground plane and added orange to the top corners to add focus to the main figure.

I still have paint left over so I began drawing 2…

Gouache_Guardian1

Gouache_Guardian2

2 Responses to “Gouache Guardian”

  1. Menace From the Deep « Labsquad Says:

    […] Labsquad Sequential and Inconsequential Illustrations « Gouache Guardian […]

  2. Menace From the Deep: Part 2 « Labsquad Says:

    […] with an overall cool underlying hue (blue), I want to make the image visually consistent with the first image that had a yellow […]

Leave a Reply

