T-Shirt sketches

I volunteered to design a tshirt for my family’s summer reunion. My initial idea was to to set up a campground look with each tent representing the various sub-family groups. I set up an isometric perspective grid. The idea just wasn’t working. So I changed gears.

Concept 2 depicts iconography from the various states-of-origin for the participants. They’re assembled in a whimsical collection of floating islands joining together, a visual definition of a reunion.

As is often the case, I like my sketches  more than the final which I composited in Photoshop then redrew and tweaked in Illustrator. Since I have the illustrator files, I may do a colored version for fun at some future date. The tshirts will be a single-color silk screen so I had to work out how the lines and closed negative space would interact with the shirt color.

tshirt_elements

tshirt_final

Picture 10

Leave a Reply

