Celtic Knot

I went sketching at nearly graveyard. Some headstones have great architectural moulding. One grave had metal cross with a bit of celtic knotwork which I sketched and recreated in Illustrator as an exercise.

I set up a grid and found the repeated unit in the design. I then drew that unit as a single stroke, applied several strokes to the appearance. When I copied and rotated the repeating element, I had to clip the lines at specific places to create the “over-under” characteristic of celtic knots.

Leaving the artwork as single, editable stroke with applied appearances makes editing and correcting the design incredibly easy. By creating graphic styles, I was able to try several “looks” to the design in a matter of seconds.

Nod to Leslie Cabarga’s Logo, Font & Lettering Bible

celtic_knot

2 Responses to “Celtic Knot”

  1. Mary Says:

    I found this when looking for some designs for an Illustrator course I am doing – thank you for putting in the notes about how you did it. Now I will have to see if I can manage something similar.

    • labsquad Says:

      I’m glad you found the post helpful. Drop me a link if you put your design up. I’ve been focusing more on hand-drawn stuff lately but I’ll have to get in some more Illustrator(tions) soon.

Leave a Reply

