Wood Spook

Well, I think I’ve got the “rough underpainting” concept down in Photoshop. I’m not sure how to smooth everything out to finalize a digital painting. I was playing around with brush customization on this one. There is a quality of brush that I’m trying to capture that still eludes me. It’s kind of chalky or gouache-like (see work by Ronnie Del Carmen) and is often found in concept art for animation projects. The journey continues . . .

One Response to “Wood Spook”

  1. emmacaco Says:

    You can try lasso-ing and paint bucket, building a picture out of shapes – almost like a collage… it keeps the silhouette clear, and you can work back into the big shapes you’ve got without anything getting distracting!

Leave a Reply

