Splash Page Sketch . . . and a word about style

Last night, I spent a couple of hours inking the Labsquad page that I’ve been posting in stages. I scanned it and have been laying the the flats (all except the last panel which needs to be redrawn. I had toyed with the notion of digitally inking in Illustrator, but you can’t beat the immediacy of hand inking.

I used a Niji Brush pen filled with Rapidograph ink. We’ll see how long it lasts before it gets too crusty to work (so far so good). The brushpen allows me to work pretty quickly since I don’t have to continually dip into an inkwell. Filling up the brush pen is a little messy. I haven’t found a way to get the ink in without wasting quite a lot of it and staining my hands black.

This image is a partially inked rough of a splash page for the Labsquad story. I don’t know if I have come to a style that I can consistently produce, but I figure if I just keep drawing, eventually something will gel

Leave a Reply

