Bar Conversation

Bar Sketch

Here’s another of those empty-word balloon sequentials. I found this partially inked in one of my sketchbooks and hastily finished it, adding the last panel for closure. The maroon, cream and white color scheme was a little more interesting than the black and white art, especially since the inking was less than stellar (I probably can’t blame that solely on the rush work).

Rather than focus on what I think is not working technique and construction-wise, I will say that I like the study in contrast of the two characters: dark and light, serious and comic, wine and whiskey, deliberating and impulsive.

One thing I admire about animators is their skill at conveying emotional nuance in the face and posture of their characters. I think the blond guy has some of that “inner world” going on in his expression and bearing.  Baby Steps.

Leave a Reply

