Digi-Finch

A few weeks ago I spent an hour or so painting gesso onto various pages in different sketchbook. I wanted to provide a ground for gouache, pastels, acrylic or other media. I also wanted to prevent these media from bleeding through the paper to other drawings and sketches.

This is a oil pastel drawing of a finch that I scanned through a sheet of wax-paper, color adjusted in Photoshop, then played around with the filters until I got an effect that I liked (and effectively masked my deficiencies as a master of oil pastel).

I also got to apply my Chinese chop that I scanned a couple months back for just such a purpose. It seemed to lend itself well to the subject matter. am happy to apply it to my digital work.

Leave a Reply

