Gouache Painting

Gouche experiment 1

I’ve been seeing a lot of gouche illustrations, particularly on Pixar peeps blog. I remembered that I had inherited some tubes of the stuff from my sister-in-law, who is a pretty amazing illustrator. I also saw a series of book illustrations by Belle Yang at the Monterey art museum a few weeks ago. The brilliant, matte colors of her paintings were very exciting and inspiring.

I spent some time applying gesso to pages in some of my sketchbooks (I’ve got about 7 or 8 going at various stages of use) so the gesso wouldn’t interact negatively with the existing sketches.

Since I’m not exactly sure how to approach gouche from a technical standpoint, I just jumped in using a character from my Labsquad project. I mainly used a pointed round watercolor brush and worked in shapes with minimal (intentional) blending.

If anyone has pointers or knows of a good resource on how to effectively mix, apply and utilize gouche, I’d appreciate the help. I have a limited palette of colors (all in the warm end) so I colorized the final painting in Photoshop with a gradient overlay.

Leave a Reply

