Graverobber Draft

gr_rough1.jpg

This is a (scaled-down) draft based on one of the thumbnails. There is a plethora of adjustments I need to make before the final composition. I’m not happy with the upper left corner. The figure needs a lot of work too.

I scanned the pencil sketch, adjusted the levels in Photoshop, and did some very rough color tints to get a sense of depth. I’m reading Shawn Martinbrough’s How to Draw Noir Comics (stylistically layed out similar to the fantastic DC how-to series also published by Watson-Guptill) and I’m interested in attempting a high-contrast version of the image. I also want to try a vector version, we’ll see how ambitious I get.

Leave a Reply

